Contact Us : +91 7679068077

>STUDENT’S CORNER > Electoral Literacy Club

Electoral Literacy Club

  1. About us:

The Electoral Literacy Club (ELC) at Durgapur Women’s College was established following ECI guidelines, aiming to foster electoral literacy across various age groups in India, with a special focus on students at the college. Through engaging activities and practical experiences, the club aims to impart knowledge in a non-political, neutral, and unbiased manner.

Additionally, the institutional ELC was formed with the explicit goal of reaching out to new voters, particularly those aged 18-21 who are pursuing their graduation. Membership in the club is open to all regular students of the college.

  1. Objectives:

The objectives of the ELC, aligned with ECI guidelines and tailored to the needs of the institution and local community, are as follows:

  1. Identify eligible students aged 18 and above who haven’t yet registered for voting and provide them with guidance and support to complete the registration process.
  2. Educate both college and local community members about voter registration procedures, the electoral process, and related topics through practical engagement.
  3. Conduct sessions to familiarize individuals with Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) and Voter Verifiable Paper Audit Trails (VVPATs), emphasizing the reliability of EVMs and the integrity of the electoral system.
  4. Empower the target demographic to recognize the significance of their vote and enable them to exercise their franchise confidently, comfortably, and ethically.
  5. Mobilize ELC members to spread electoral literacy within their respective communities.
  6. Foster a culture of active electoral participation, emphasizing the importance of informed and ethical voting, adhering to the principles of “Every vote counts” and “No Voter to be Left Behind”.
  1. Committee Members:
Teacher Members : Dr. Mahananda Kanjilal (Chairperson)

Sri. Kajal Mandal (Convener)

Sri. Bijioy Prasad Das (Jt. Convener)

Smt. Manimala Ghosh

Smt. Joyitree Thakur

Smt. Jnui Bhattacharya

Sri. Ram Sou Mondal

Dr. Sutapa Mondal


Student Members : Smt. Priyanka Dey

Smt. Sunami Mondal

Smt. Mallika Murmu


Event Report 30.3.2024


Durgapur Women's College
Mahatma Gandhi Rd,

Durgapur, WestBengal

Pincode: 713209

Quick Links

Reach Us On

+91 7679068077