Contact Us : +91 7679068077

>THE COLLEGE > Yoga Committee

Yoga Committee

About The Committee:

This committee was created on 11th September 2023.
Dr. Mahananda Kanjilal (chairperson),
Dr. Chandrima Das (convenor),
Prof. Mitali Ghosh Moulick (joint convenor),
Prof. Joyitree Thakur (member),
Dr. Debalina Kar (member),
Prof. Jnui Battacharyya (member),
Prof. Baishali Dey (member),
Prof. Rimam Rakshit (member),
Prof. Moumita Karmakar (member),
Prof. Swati Chatterjee (member),
Prof. Vivekananda Garai (member),
Prof. Tuntun Pal (member), and
Ms. Mousumi Dutta (student member).

Yoga is a Sanskrit word “YOG” or also known as union which is a group of physical, mental, and spiritual practices or disciplines that originated in ancient India with the aim to still the mind, recognizing a detached witness-consciousness untouched by the mind. There is a wide variety of Yoga in Hinduism, Buddhism, and Jainism. Yoga practices were first mentioned in the Hindu text Rigveda. Yoga is a practice that connects the body, breath, and mind. Regular yoga practices create mental clarity and calmness, increase body awareness, relieve chronic stress patterns, relax the mind, and sharpen concentration.
Keeping these benefits in mind and the age-old tradition as well as cultivating it among the youth, DURGAPUR WOMEN’S COLLEGE has started Yoga classes for students, teachers, and non-teaching staff from 11th September 2023 with minimal charges. Classes are conducted by a professional trainer every Wednesday from 9:30 to 10:30 am.

Your browser does not support PDFs. Download the PDF.


Durgapur Women's College
Mahatma Gandhi Rd,

Durgapur, WestBengal

Pincode: 713209

Quick Links

Reach Us On

+91 7679068077